Untitled

I created this piece to get a feel for the subject I would be working with. I tried to choose toys with fur and other different things to draw like complex patterns on clothing. My goal was to familiarize myself with this subject matter and build confidence for my future pieces. I also chose this because toys have a tendency to be forgotten and left to sit somewhere, sometimes for years. I’ve seen this happen in homes and stores everywhere, and this is a tribute to those toys because they may have inspired happiness and imagination for a young child and that, to me, is something worth recognition. I tried to capture that in this work. My hope is to take what I draw and portray a feeling for the viewer to experience.

 

My Inspiration:

My influence was Rich Travis He has done numerous paintings of toys and his work always has a certain feel to it. he portrays different emotions in the still lifes that he has done. This is the main reason I feel he inspired me.